ICIDN-2012 Reports & Publications:

  • A review of ICIDN-2012 written by Profs Robert R. Bragg and Lodewyk Kock (University of the Free State, Bloemfontein, South Africa), published in Expert Review of Anti-infective Therapy (a monthly peer-reviewed journal with 2013 impact factor of 3.063) can be downloaded in PDF File or freely accessed here .

  • Official report of ICIDN-2012 can be downloaded here in PDF file
  • Articles of high scientific values presented during ICIDN-2012, along with contributions from some of the world leading scientists, published in two volumes of the Springer Book Series - Advances in Experimental Medicine and Biology (a scientific journal of international repute with 2013 impact factor of 2.012) can be accessed here .

  • Local Proceedings of ICIDN-2012 can be downloaded here in PDF file

  • Major highlights of ICIDN-2012:

  • The First International Conference on Infectious Diseases and Nanomedicine (ICIDN-2012) was held during December 15-18, 2012 in Kathmandu, Nepal; organized in collaboration with Kathmandu University, Dhulikhel, Kavre, Nepal.

  • Rt. Honorable President of Nepal Dr. Ram Baran Yadav inaugurated ICIDN-2012, as the Chief Guest .
  • The inauguration ceremony was jointly celebrated by Prof. Geoffrey L Smith (Head, Department of Pathology, University of Cambridge, UK; President of the International Union of Microbiological Societies (IUMS), Prof. Jamboor K. Vishwanatha (Dean, University of North Texas Health Science Center, Fort Worth, Texas, USA), Prof. Surendra Raj Kafle (Vice Chancellor, Nepal Academy of Science and Technology, Lalitpur, Nepal), Prof. Ishwar Chandra Dutta (Chairman, Tribhuvan University Service Commission, Kirtipur, Nepal), Dr. Rajendra Koju (CEO of School of Medical Sciences, Kathmandu University; representative of Vice Chancellor of Kathmandu University, Nepal) and Er. Ganesh Shah (Former Minister- Ministry of Environment, Science and Technology, Government of Nepal). Welcome speech at the inauguration ceremony, conducted by Mr. Santosh Thapa (Co-Convener of ICIDN-2012), was delivered by Mr. Netra Lal Bhandari (Conference Secretary) and Vote of Thanks was offered by Dr. Rameshwar Adhikari (Convener of ICIDN-2012).

  • 180 delegates from 21 countries representing continents of Australia, America, Asia, Europe and Africa

  • Diverse background of participants: clinicians, microbiologists, chemists, pharmacists, nanotechnologists, polymer scientists, biomedical engineers and others. About 65% of the participants were students and early career scientist.

  • Well represented by The International Union of Microbiological Societies (IUMS) as evidenced by the active participation of five of its executive committee members including President Prof. Geoffrey L. Smith (University of Cambridge, UK), President-elect Prof. Yuan Kun Lee (National University of Singapore, Singapore), Vice-presidents Prof. Stephen A. Lerner (Wayne State University, USA) and Prof. Pierre J. Talbot (University of Quebec, Canada; Organizing President, IUMS2014 Congresses- Montreal) and IUMS Ambassador to Asia Prof. Fusao Tomita (University of Hokkaido, Japan; Organizing President, IUMS2011 Congresses-Sapporo, Japan).

  • One day Short Course on Recent Trends in Nanomedicine and Infectious Diseases held on Dec 15, targeted to students and young scientists.

  • Opening Video Lecture by Nobel Laureate Prof. Barry J. Marshall (The University of Western Australia, Perth, Australia) and opening Lecture by Distinguished Prof. Lodewyk Kock (University of the Free State, Bloemfontein, South Africa)

  • 48 excellent oral presentations including 4 keynote lectures and 8 invited lectures

  • Special Symposium on Antibiotic Resistance : coordinated by Prof. Stephen A. Lerner (Wayne State University, Detroit, USA) in collaboration with Prof. Bharat Mani Pokharel (Tribhuvan University Teaching Hospital, Kathmandu, Nepal)and Prof. Kumud K. Kafle (Tribhuvan University Teaching Hospital, Kathmandu, Nepal)

  • Best poster awards: awarded to three student posters out of 44

  • Chief Guest of the Closing Ceremony Mrs. Chirika Shova Tamrakar (Dean, Institute of Science and Technology, Tribhuvan University, Kathmandu, Nepal) felicitated the best student poster awardee, foreign delegates and sponsors of the ICIDN-2012 with Token of Love.


  • Last Updated on November 5, 2015